Leopoldo Janesich 1802 - 1880
more than a century and a half the House of Janesich has been the life and
soul of a prestigious goldsmith's art activity , developed in many
countries and through generations over the centuries.
all began in 1835, when the founder, Leopoldo Janesich, opened the doors
of the firm in a lively trading town, on early nineteenth century Trieste,
in Capo di Piazza, a cultural and social haunt.
his mid thirties, Leopoldo, a Dalmatian by birth, had already acquired
more than ten years of practical workshop experience, good draftmanship
and had become an accomplished goldsmith. He soon identified the taste of
a rich and diversified clientele and in a short time, bankers, ship owners,
noblemen and merchants were coming to him, with confidence and enthusiasm.
town being a free port favored the rise of big capital investements
subsequently leading to ostentations worldliness.
even the most prepared customer could not but be seduced by the
sophisticated quality of the jewels on sale at Janesich.
A refined taste for the simple and beautiful prevailed in the middle class of the time, despite the appearance of an excessively adorned gentleman every now and then.
decades later, with Janesich's fame well-established, Leopoldo not
only extends his contacts with suppliers to the cities of Florence, Rome,
Venice and Milan but also to the German laboratories of Hanau and the
Austrian ones of Vienna.
His son Giovanni who assists him, will soon take the House's fame as far as France whose capital set the fashion trend for all of Europe. Both he and his young son Alberto often visited Paris. Leopoldo passed away in 1880, after a life rich in professional satisfaction. He was mourned by his fellow-citizens, who had known him also as a member of the Town Council and of the Stock-Exchange Committee.
on 1927 ...
Broche. White gold, diamonds and onyx, with "drilling" work.
Belongs to the series "Retour de Egypte"
.. 1925 ,
three generations ...
Cigarette-case and match-case
1896 Giovanni established a wholesale trade branch for gems and pearls in
the Rue de Lafayette in Paris; he leaves Alberto to manage it, a young man
with a marked inclination for buying and selling and an enthusiastic
connoisseur of gems.
other son Giuseppe, who inherited his grandfather's passion for the Fine
Arts and his talent for drawing, becomes the cultural reference point of
the family and manages the Trieste shop.
continuous exchange of valuables takes place between the two shops: those
produced in France are also sold in Capo di Piazza and vice versa.
is involved in promoting business connections for both shops, and the
firm's correspondence reflects good business relations with houses such as
Bulgari and Settepassi in Italy and Vever, Boucheron and Chaumet in France.
Some of Daume's and Walter's vases are mounted in silver, based on designs
by Giuseppe, while Tiffany purchases considerable amounts of pearls from
Alberto. By then, Alberto, well-accepted in Paris' high society, frequents
the Opera as a guest in the box of the Princess of Metternich and can
count among his clients all the "crème" of
the "Ville Lumiere".
1913, Alberto takes over two shops from the Goustikker family; one is very
large, in Rue de la Paix, the temple of Parisian luxury, situated between
Tiffany and Cartier; the other, in Monte Carlo, is smaller but faces the
Casino. The immediate and great success of business cast off any previous
uncertainties about what steps were to be further taken.
stir caused by the celebrations, in Saint Petersburg, for the
three-hundred anniversary of the Romanoff family, brings him new, wealthy
customers and Alberto was already present at the auction of the Duchess of
Marlborough's jewellery, acquiring the diadem and a necklage.
the outbreak of World War I could stop this success. When the conflict
came to the end, the clientele's desire to make up for lost time led the
Janesich family to set up two new shops in the renowned resorts of
Deauville and Vichy. While the shop in Trieste included clients such as
King Nicholas of Montenegro and Duke Amedeo of Aosta as well as big
shipping companies, Paris and Montecarlo would receive frequent visits
from Princess Ruspoli and Baronesses Rothschild and Forest and all the
fashionable society of the time.
continued to buy gems from Alberto, while his father, although elderly,
managed the connection with the Baume et Mercier watch factory, for whose
mechanisms wonderful gem and gold watchcases were made in the then, all
the rage "deco" style.
great jewellery designer Alfred Langlois, works for Janesich as well as
for Boucheron and Mauboussin; Giuseppe
in Trieste designs an elegant gold, silver and enamel jewelry box for the
wedding of Princess Mafalda of Savoia.
1923, the first Biennale Festival of Decorative Arts at the Royal Villa in
Monza includes some beautiful creations by the firm, and in 1925 the House
of Savoy awards the Janesich
family with the royal appointment.
crown adorning the head of the Madonna in the Castelmonte sanctuary will
also be created in their workshops.
1927 Giovanni Janesich passed away and Giuseppe initiates his son Pietro,nicknamed
the family trade where he fits in brilliantly.
the early 20th century, the Janesich also specialize in medal
manufacturing to celebrate ship launchings and historical and
1933 Giuseppe is awarded the House of Aosta appointment but the joy cannot
be shared with Alberto, who died a few months earlier; the shops in France
are closed over the next two years; an office, opened by Alberto in London,
had been closed by Alberto himself in the early post-war period.
and Momo continue the century-old tradition. They will carry on the
beautiful production for famous authorities of the time and for official
national and local celebrations.
works of art are made for the then Premier Mussolini and Minister Ciano,
and many gift items are made on the occasion of the frequent
ship-launching ceremonies of the Thirties.
dies 1937 and soon thereafter Europe, at war again, will be lacerated for
seven long years.
will be left up to Momo, now alone, to start up the post-war activity.
this time the whole world has changed: Momo, a cultured and refined man,
opening his heart to a friend, tells him sadly that all the great
customers have "gone". The House of Janesich continues its
production among which the masterpiece creation of the Golden Laurel Award
Cup, for the renowned American film producer of "A Farewell to Arms"
and "Gone with the Wind", David O.Selznik.
1971 Momo passes away, in his beautiful residence in Barcola, Trieste.
present, the family tradition is being continued by Francesco
Janesich, the sixth heir to a jewellers family, in Trieste, in via San
Nicolò 30, where in the great respect and tradition of its 175 years
experience, jewels and precious items are still conceived and realized.